Phantasms of Artistic Production

A collection of lists, descriptions and mind-maps on visions, fantasies, daydreams and fears connected to artistic productions. This material as used for an installation and a lecture performance.

 

Part 1: I have to lie down – pretty much about hardly anything

During the exhibition I am as hyperactive as possible. I collect and develop figures of thought, descriptions, instructions about all kinds of minor and hardly-any-productions, about slow, discrete and hidden production, about latency phases and the phantasm of non-production. I collect these ideas with help of the visitors: Please give me an interview (5-15 min) on your delicate, narrow or reduced production, but also on your everyday production or your fantasies of non-production or large-scale production. If you like to, we will make a drawing.

    

Installation at “The Production of Nothing” at Kunstpunkt Berlin, 2018

 

Part 2: Works, works, works (Phantasms of Works)

Collection of texts, gathered while staying at Brunakra Contemporary, Gislöv Sweden,  + lecture performance and Mini-Workshop, Konstitutet, Malmö 2019.

What are artists’ phantasms of perfect works? What are we desperate for? What do we dream of, when we think of making a huge work (a dream almost every artist entertains)? How we imagine tiny works? What precise concepts – known and preconscious – do we entertain when we speak of poetic, daring, or consequent works? What ideals do we have in mind? What are the impulses, the perceptions, the hunches that get us going? What ideas about working processes and states of being passive and active are connected to these ideas on works.

The lecture performance consisted in reciting lists of characteristics and phantasms to different forms of work (big, small, minimal, crass, consistent, poetic …). The motives contradicted each other, changed the level of reference, mirrored each other … After a time, the audience was allowed to decide whether to continue and which topic would be dealt with next, with the lists becoming more fragmentary. Simple projected graphics allowed the visitor to see where in the particular order you were. In a subsequent mini-workshop, the visitors questioned each other about their fantasies of future work.

Excerpt from the lecture performance:

 

More Projects

Produktions-Phantasmen

Eine Sammlung von Listen, Beschreibungen, Übersichten und Stichpunkten zu Vorstellungen, Tagträumen, Phantasien und Ängsten, die mit der künstlerischen Produktion verbunden sind. Diese war Ausgangsmaterial für eine Installation und eine Vortragsperformance.

Teil 1: Ich muss mich unbedingt hinlegen: Ziemlich viel über kaum etwas

Ausstellungsteilnahme bei The Production of Nothing

Während der Ausstellungszeit sammle und entwickle ich – so hyperaktiv wie möglich – Denkfiguren, Beschreibungen, Handlungsanweisungen etc. zum Wenig-, Kaum-, Fast-Nicht-Produzieren, zu gebremster, diskreter und versteckter Produktion, zu Latenzphasen und zum Phantasma der Nicht-Produktion. Ich sammle mit der Hilfe der Besucher: Gebt mir ein Interview (5-15 min) über Eure zarte, schmale oder reduzierte Produktion, aber auch über Eure Alltagsproduktion oder Eure Phantasien einer Nicht- oder Großproduktion. Wenn Ihr mögt, machen wir eine Zeichnung dazu.

Installation bei der Ausstellung „The Production of Nothing“ Kunstpunkt Berlin, 2018

    

Teil 2: Works, works, works (Phantasms of Works)

Textsammlung, Vortrags-Performance und Mini-Workshop, Konstitutet, Malmö 2019

Gesammelt u.a. während einer Residency bei Brunakra Contemporary, Gislöv Schweden.

KurzbeschreibungWovon träumen wir, wenn wir an die Herstellung einer großen Arbeit denken (ein Traum, den beinahe jeden Künstler hat)? Wie stellt man sich die Arbeit an kleinen Arbeiten vor? Was genau ist gut daran? Was meinen wir, wenn wir von poetischen, gewagten oder konsequenten Arbeiten sprechen? Welche Ideale haben wir im Sinn? Was macht daran welche Art von Spaß? Welche Vorstellungen von Arbeitsabläufen und von passiven sowie aktiven Zustände sind damit verbunden?

Die Vortrags-Performance (bei Konstitutet in Malmö) bestand im Vortragen von Listen von Eigenschaften und Phantasmen zu verschiedenen Formen von Arbeiten(groß, klein, minimal, krass, konsequent, poetisch…). Die Motive widersprachen sich, wechselten die Ebene, spiegelten sich ineinander… Etwa ab der Hälfte des Vortrags durfte das Publikum entscheiden, ob ich weitermachen und welches Thema als nächstes behandelt wurde, wobei die Listen im fragmentarischer wurden. Einfache projizierte Graphiken, erlaubten den Besucher zu sehen, wo in der jeweiligen Ordnung man sich gerade befand. In einem anschließenden Workshop befragten sich die Besucher gegen­seitig zu ihren Phantasien von zukünftigen Arbeiten.

Textausschnitt aus der Performance:

 

Weitere Projekte