The Feeling of Thinking: Reading Theory

Series of stories and performative talk (ongoing project)

How does it feel to read philosophy? Must we be silent in order to understand Hegel? Can we return to the reason of the Greeks by reading Hannah Arendt ? Does Kant help to bring the fluent phenomena to a standstill?

In this project I investigate in reading philosophy, both as momentary experience as well as a persistent practice. I tell stories about how reading feels, how it is enjoyed and endured, and how it determines the lives of the readers. These stories are based on a series of 50 interviews with dedicated readers of philosophy (both professionals and amateurs) on their personal experience.

Read some stories and watch some accompanying animations in the Performance Philosophy Journal.

Listen to some stories:

EXCERPT FROM: KEIRA READS DONALD DAVIDSON

Keira wants to understand Davidson. She is willing to concede his argument if necessary. Yet she will not submit to Davidson by any means. It is important not to submit. Even if Davidson is smarter. Especially if Davidson is smarter. Nothing is decided yet.

What would it take for Keira to win? Victory would be hers if she could understand Davidson’s text completely while at the same time being smarter than him in one aspect. If she could see Davidson’s line of argument clearly, and at the same time could say why one particular point of it does not work. Then she would have won.

[/vc_column]

Excerpt from: Verena reads Hannah Arendt

Hannah Arendt makes Verena perceive something new: while her sentences guide Verena through one piece of the world, Hannah Arendt at the same time brings order into the monstrosity of this piece, thereby mitigating it. So that the world does not strike Verena in all its vehemence and Verena faces something more rational than the world as such, something that can be made sense of. And, moreover, something that allows for more hope.

[/vc_column]

Excerpt from: Ina read Derrida

Derrida’s texts start harmlessly enough. But then they suddenly accelerate. When they get moving, they want with all their might for Ina to think differently than she normally does. They insist that Ina keep all their axioms and claims active in her mind and that she take them as the foundation for the next sentence. Derrida’s texts want Ina to adopt and maintain their special level of tension. They want to induce a certain twist into Ina’s thoughts. All of Derrida’s admonitory sentences in the first place admonish Ina not to sink back into her usual, tension-free way of thinking.

[/vc_column]

Das Gefühl zu denken: Theorie lesen

Serie von Erzählungen und Vortrags-Performance (im Arbeit)

Wie ist es, Derrida, Butler oder Žižek zu lesen? Muss man schweigen, um Hegel verstehen zu können? Wie oft muss man Deleuze lesen, um den Sinn zu erahnen? Möchte man mit Hannah Arendt zur Vernunft der Griechen zurückzukehren? Hilft Kant dabei, die freifließenden Phänomene aufzuhalten?

Philosophie/Theorie zu lesen ist eine ästhetische, persönliche und anstrengende Erfahrung. Man tut es nur, wenn man sich davon etwas verspricht. Zugleich wird es von vielen Leser*innen als beglückend wahrgenommen. Ich untersuche diese Erfahrung und schreibe fiktive Prosatexte dazu. Sie basieren auf 50 vertraulichen Interviews mit Student*innen, Dozent*innen, Professor*innen aus der Geisteswissenschaft (insbesondere aus der Philosophie) und mit anderen versierten Lesern.

Ein paar Geschichten auf Englisch wurden im Performance Philosophy Journal veröffentlich und können dort gelesen werden.

 

Ausschnitt aus: Kira liest Donald Davidson

Geschichten hören:

Kira will Davidson verstehen. Ihm notfalls sogar Recht geben. Aber sie will sich Davidson auf keinen Fall – hast Du nicht gesehen – unterwerfen: Es ist wichtig, sich nicht zu unterwerfen. Selbst dann, wenn Davidson klüger sein sollte. Gerade dann, wenn Davidson klüger sein sollte. Noch ist nichts entschieden.
Wann hätte Kira gewonnen? Gewonnen hätte sie, wenn sie Davidsons Text verstanden hätte und gleichzeitig in einem Punkt klüger wäre als Davidson. Wenn sie Davidsons Argumentationslinie genau sehen und zugleich sagen könnte, warum sie an einem ganz bestimmten Punkt nicht funktionierte. Dann hätte sie gewonnen.

Ausschnitt aus: Verena liest Hannah Ahrendt

Hannah Arendt lässt Verena etwa Neues wahr­nehmen, weil sie, während sie Verena ihr mit ihren Sätzen durch ein Stück Welt führt, gleichzeitig die Ungeheuer­lichkeit der Welt ordnet und sie so abfängt. So dass die Welt Verena nicht in ihrer ganzen Wucht trifft und sie etwas Vernünftigerem begegnet als der Welt als solcher, etwas, aus dem Sinn gemacht werden kann; und vor allem etwas, das mehr Zuversicht erlaubt.

Ausschnitt aus: Ina liest Jacques Derrida

[/vc_column]

Derridas Texte beginnen oft ganz harmlos. Doch plötzlich ziehen sie an. Wenn sie in Bewegung kommen, wollen sie auf einmal mit aller Macht, dass Ina anders denken soll als sonst. Sie bestehen darauf, dass Ina die zuvor aufgestellten Axiome und Thesen im Kopf aktiv hält und sie als Grundlage für den nächsten Satz nimmt. Die Texte wollen, dass Ina das spezielle Spannungsniveau des Textes annimmt, aufnimmt und auf diesem Niveau weiterdenkt. Alle ermahnenden Sätze ermahnen sie zu allererst, auf gar keinen Fall zurückzusinken in ihre gewöhnliche, spannungsfreie Denkweise.

[/vc_column]